A Guide to Different Types of Portugal Visa

There are several different visa types available in Portugal. These visas may be grouped under two headings:

  1. Short Stay Visa (Schengen Visa)
  2. Temporary Stay Visa (National Visa)

The distinguishing factors between these categories are the reason and the duration of the visit.

Short Stay Visa (Schengen Visa)

Portugal’s Short Stay Visa is the alternative name of a Schengen Visa. These visas can be issued by any member state of the Schengen Area. For travel within the Schengen Area, individuals must obtain one of these visas. There are different types of Schengen Visas. Airport Transit Visa, Seasonal Work Visa, Short-Term Visa are all encompassed by the generic Schengen Visa.

Temporary Stay Visa (National Visa)

This visa type splits into two within itself: Temporary Stay Visa, and Residency Visa. Temporary Visa refers to visas that are valid for one year and allows for multiple entrances to the country. The reason to get these visas might be highly variable, such as work, study, research, internship, training, health, etc. The other type, Residency Visa, is a little more specific as the name suggests. It is valid for 4 months. It allows entrance into Portugal up to two times. These visits are to be used for Residency Permit applications at SEF (The Immigration and Border Services).

Other Visa Types

There are several other visas one can apply for specific purposes. These visas do not entirely fit the boundaries of the mentioned types.

D2 Visa

The D2 Visa is for entrepreneurs and business people. If individuals desire to conduct business activities in Portugal, obtaining a D2 Visa is a good idea. As a requisite for this type of application, individuals must prove their adequate income or investment or at least the intention to invest in Portugal.

D7 Visa

Eligibility for the D7 Visa is designated through financial information about the participants’ income. To be eligible, the first adult applicant has to have a minimum means of 7,200 euros per year. The requirement for the second applicant is half of this: 3,600 euros per year. As the income increases, the chances to obtain the D7 Visa also increase.

Portugal Golden Visa

Portugal Golden Visa Program is a residency by investment scheme. Through this program, investors from all over the world can invest in Portugal and become residents. There are several different routes one can follow in the application process:

  1. A minimum investment of 500,000 euros in Portuguese property;
  2. A minimum investment of 350,000 euros in Portuguese property in need of renovation and restoration;
  3. A minimum investment of 350,000 euros in scientific research;
  4. A minimum investment of 250,000 euros in arts, culture, and heritage;
  5. A minimum investment of 500,000 euros in small and medium businesses;
  6. A minimum transfer of 1 million euros in Portugal;
  7. Creating at least 10 jobs in Portugal.

The program started in late 2012. Since then, it generates a considerable income for Portugal. If the application is successful, investors obtain a one-year residence permit in Portugal. Renewed after the first and third years, it may lead to citizenship provided that the individuals comply with all regulations necessary. This visa also grants investors the right to live, study, and work in any other EU member state, too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *